Dispatches from the Control Room – December 11

* Yet another wacky weather day. On days like this, I shouldn’t bother showing up until a half-hour before my show. Anything I write, we don’t have time for. All we do is toss from a reporter to a meteorologist to a traffic guy to an official on the phone. I killed 11 stories today. Eleven precious stories you’ll never hear. One of those stories would likely be the one to inspire some child to grow up and cure cancer. The ice storm robbed us of that. Go to hell, ice storm.

* Yesterday, I went to the Museum of Science and Industry to check out the “Star Wars” exhibit. I am a huge nerd, so this was well worth my time. I suggest hitting this with a nerd you love for Christmas. You won’t need to buy them anything else. Nerds, by our nature, are used to neglect, so a little thought goes a long way.

* Dick Johnson appears to be on vacation this week. Where do anchormen go on vacation? And do they feel compelled to use their “anchor voice” all the time? I mean, the guy’s got kids. I wonder what a scolding from him would sound like. (Probably hilarious.)

* I’m fascinated by what reporters wear when they’re out in the field on a cold day. I once knew a reporter who never wore the same hat twice. Seriously, this girl had more winter hats than the sum total of pants I’ve ever owned. Kim’s hat today reminded me of a stack of pancakes. That’s not a judgment. That’s an observation.

I’ve often been told my clothes remind other people of a shoddily-dressed mummy.

One response to “Dispatches from the Control Room – December 11

  1. I just wanted to say how much I love this blog! I came across it a couple of weeks ago and enjoy reading the entries. I was a cubs superfan blogger this past summer for channel 5 but I can tell you my entries were no where near entertaining as yours are! Make sure you keep the listeners updated as to when you’ll be doing your improve – We’d love to come and see you!

Leave a Reply

